Black Rock Volume 1 Update

‘Black Rock Volume 1’, my first collection of photographs documenting the great musicians that make up the last truly alternative music scene, is available now at Blurb.com.  You can find out more about the book by following this link:

There’s a few things that need to be cleared up:

1 – If you have noticed, the price of the book has gone up significantly.  I had absolutely NO say in that decision and didn’t find out about it until a few days ago by going to the Blurb site!  I was told that I was informed via email, but I never received it.  Blurb raised the prices of all books across the board to cover rising publishing costs – or at least that’s what I’m assuming.  I tried really hard to keep the price of the book reasonable but again, with fewer and fewer people buying books – coupled with the rise of the e-book – it’s becoming more and more difficult.

2 -Blurb will be opening a temp store in Soho from October 21st through Halloween.  There will be some really cool events, workshops and seminars happening with some tremendously talented photographers and writers there.  You can follow this link to find out more information: http://bit.ly/btPX0g.  I made an inquiry to Blurb to see if I could have copies of the book placed there during this run.  I felt it would be a great opportunity for those who can’t order the book online to purchase it on site.  That request was denied.  I felt it would be a cool chance for those who wanted to get a better feel for the book AND really get to see how Blurb works, but the powers that be saw it different.  To say I’m disappointed would be an understatement.

3 – The e-book version of ‘Black Rock Volume 1’ will come out, I just don’t have a definitive release date at this time.  There are some tech issues that are being worked out as we speak.  The good news is that the e-book will be significantly less expensive than a hard copy.  I haven’t seen the final version of it, but I’ve been told that it looks great.  I’m really excited about having the book out in this format.

4 – I’m trying to set up another edition of ‘Black Rock Volume 1 Live’ before the year is out.  We had one scheduled for October, but we couldn’t work out the particulars, but another event will happen.  I really want to do one with the hardest working woman in show business, Honeychild Coleman!  She has an AMAZING CD out now called ‘Halo Inside’ that you really need to hear.  A really cool person too.  But again, there’s a ton of details that need to be worked out to make this happen and once they are, I’ll let you know.

Thanks to everyone for the support!

About earldouglas

Author of the book, 'Black Rock Volume 1', which is available now at Blurb.com and as an e-book on Barnes & Noble.com and Amazon.com. Executive Director of the Black Rock Coalition New York Chapter. Photographer, music fan, Yankee fan, supporter of the arts!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

